The final day of XCO competition in Lenzerheide, Switzerland, at the 2018 UCI Mountain Bike World Championships presented by Mercedes Benz, saw Swiss hero Nino Schurter delight the home crowd with a victory in the elite men. The Swiss finished the XCO portion of the world championships with four wins in seven races.

Schurter came into the elite men's race with six world titles already, but this was a chance to win before a home crowd, and he did not disappoint. The Swiss rider, who lives only 20 minutes away from Lenzerheide, attacked on the opening lap, and only Gerhard Kerschbaumer of Italy was able to go with him.

The pair rode together at the front for the entire race, until Schurter attacked with a lap and half to go. At the start of the final lap, his lead was a slim six seconds, but Schurter continued to push the pace and Kerschbaumer could not respond, finishing 11 seconds back as Schurter rolled across the finish line to the cheers of thousands of Swiss fans. Mathieu van der Poel of the Netherlands came back from a slow start to move into third on the fourth lap, and held it to the finish line for the final podium spot.

"This is definitely a special win, and I would say the best one," said Schurter. "Getting to race here with so many people out there cheering for me was incredible. It was so loud out on the course. I didn't have the freshest legs today after the Team Relay [won by Switzerland], so I was suffering quite a bit. I tried to wait, and my plan was to attack in the last lap, but I saw in the second last one that he started to struggle in the technical sections, so I just pushed as hard as I could, and the people were cheering me to the finish line."

Full Results

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Nino Schurter (Switzerland)1:29:21 
2Gerhard Kerschbaumer (Italy)0:00:11 
3Mathieu Van Der Poel (Netherlands)0:01:14 
4Henrique Avancini (Brazil)0:01:53 
5Florian Vogel (Switzerland)0:01:54 
6Mathias Flueckiger (Switzerland)0:02:00 
7Titouan Carod (France)0:02:16 
8Jordan Sarrou (France)0:02:38 
9Daniele Braidot (Italy)0:02:45 
10Thomas Litscher (Switzerland)0:03:04